Javascript is not activated in your browser. This website needs javascript activated to work properly.
You are here

Board and organization

CEC initiates, develops and administers research of an interdisciplinary nature in the field of the environment and climate. The collaborations extend over several disciplinary departments with respective research focus.

The CEC board

  • Henrik Smith, CEC and Department of Biology (Chairman)
  • Anders Tunlid, Department of Biology
  • Kim Nicholas, LUCSUS, Lund University Centre for Sustainability Studies
  • Erik Swietlicki, Division of Nuclear Physics, LTH
  • Sofi Elmroth, Department of Chemistry
  • Maj-Lena Linderson, Department of Physical Geography and Ecosystem Science
  • Johannes Stripple, Department of Political Science
  • Yvonne Persson, CEC
  • Torbjörn Brorson, IIIEE
  • Student representatives (two persons appointed by the student union)
  • William Sidemo Holm, PhD student, substitute member Sofia Hydbom, Department of Biology
  • Paul Miller, Institutionen för naturgeografi och ekosystemvetenskap
  • Helena Filipsson, Geologiska institutionen


CEC is headed by a director  and is assisted by a staff working on external relations, monitoring research funding in the field, information, study guidance and administration. A deputy director and an assistant director are also appointed by the faculty. The director, deputy and assistant director, director of third-cycle studies and the head of administration form the centre’s management group.


Page Manager:


Professor Henrik Smith
Phone: +46 (0)46 222 93 79
henrik.smith [at]

Deputy Director
Katarina Hedlund
katarina.hedlund [at]
046-222 3798

Administrative manager
Karin Hofvendahl
karin.hofvendahl [at]
+46 (0)46-222 97 96


Centre for Environmental and Climate Research, CEC

Sölvegatan 37
223 62 Lund, Sweden

Visiting address
The Ecology building, Sölvegatan 37, Lund